Libraries vs. Bookstores

Posted: January 15, 2012 in Blogs w/ Polls
Tags: , ,

Bookstores:

Shopping for books can easily be done at home via the internet and delivered to ones home or delivered wirelessly to a PC/Apple tablet using Kindle software. The later of the two is cheaper but these instances easily allow us to isolate from society which we all should strive to actively participate in. In addition, the current national fiscal crisis has increased the need for the public/private libraries. Browsing a store rather than online can provide the possibility of discovering new books/authors to explore. Still, the cost can be burdensome to many

Libraries:

Many libraries currently have no funds for the purchase of new books and are relying heavily on donations. Though purchasing books using Kindle software or other tablets are on average 25% or greater of a savings, the use of books from a library are still free. I personally have tested Kindle software and have been able to easily adapt to it. Still if possible, I prefer the feeling and texture of a book, the sound of the pages being turned, and weight between my hands. The downfall of a public/private library is that the book you may desire may not be available immediately. I like to look at this from a positive side. While I eagerly wait for the book I initially desire, I then have the opportunity to browse the shelves and find another book and/or series that I can read in the meanwhile. We are currently in an economically tough time. Though I have always loved the atmosphere of a library, I see this as the opportune time not to neglect myself the ability to enjoy reading with the same frequency as some who may purchase each book they read, but also, rather than purchase a book, if funds are available, the libraries can always use donations.

Comments
  1. donnaizzo says:

    Hi, Nicole,

    We are living in such a pivotal time in regard to the print vs digital information resources. I, too, still like a real book in my hand. A print book doesn’t need to be charged and one does not have to pay for an e-reader device to enjoy it. I wonder, though, if that is just because I have grown up with books. If someone begins reading on an e-reader, will they even want a print book. In one way I wish I could zip ahead 20 years in the future and see what happens to print resources. However, since I can’t I am going to enjoy all varieties of information resources.

    Regards,

    Donna

Leave a Reply

